Content

Discover the town of Fribourg

A town that is naturally open to the world

 
Founded in 1157 by Duke Berthold IV of Zähringen, Fribourg has been a city-state for more than six centuries. Fribourg is not only the administrative capital of the canton but, with its urban area of 80,000 inhabitants, is also notable for its cultural influence and an economic dynamism of the highest order.

To grasp the essence of Fribourg, it is necessary to understand its spiritual dimension and its richly diverse artistic activity. As a result of the religious rivalries of the Reformation and the Counter-Reformation, the Collège Saint-Michel was established on the banks of the Sarine, dedicated to the training of the canton’s élite. As the educational flagship of the town, this Jesuitical institution was naturally instrumental in the founding of the University in 1889, in response to the growing needs of a canton undergoing major change. This medieval gem of a town, this breeding-ground for young talent now boasts an alma mater that is a rare example in Europe of a bilingual Haute École, with several centres of excellence enjoying an international reputation, as do its other establishments of higher education.

From a human point of view, Fribourg offers an enviable quality of life, based on harmonious economic development and its location on the cultural border between the French-speaking and German-speaking parts of Switzerland. Its architectural heritage has been hailed by the relevant European authorities for its beauty and excellent state of preservation.

Situated at a crossroads of linguistic and cultural routes in the heart of Switzerland, the town of Fribourg is playing a bridging role second to none at a time of transformation in Europe. In keeping with this role, Fribourg hosts the Institute of Federalism, a testing ground for state structures. Our town is, moreover, a place in which a variety of languages mingle, an experience which may prove highly useful to a continent confronted with competing languages.

Fribourg, a university city of learning, also has a rich historical and cultural heritage that is constantly enlarged through new projects run jointly with the region. While the cathedral is the guardian of the ancestral identity of Fribourg, the Equilibre theatre attests to the modern attitude and innovative spirit of the city.

21st-century Fribourg is witnessing the emergence of new administrative structures. As the Agglomeration project gets underway, the proposition to merge with neighbouring municipalities seems to be winning the inhabitants over.

Once it is endowed with the requisite resources, with a new cantonal redistribution of revenue in place and an appropriate recognition of the burdens carried by an urban centre, the town of Fribourg will be fully in a position to fulfil its mission as cantonal capital and to intensify its influence and presence in Switzerland as well as at the international level.

Content

Entdecken Sie Freiburg im Üchtland

Eine Stadt geprägt von natürlicher Weltoffenheit

Mehr als 600 Jahre lang war Freiburg im Üchtland, das 1157 von Herzog Berthold IV. von Zähringen gegründet wurde, eine Stadtrepublik. Heute zeichnen sich die Stadt und ihre Agglomeration, die mit ihren mehr als 80'000 Einwohner/innen das administrative Entscheidungszentrum des Kantons bilden, durch ihre starke kulturelle Ausstrahlung und ungewöhnliche wirtschaftliche Dynamik aus.

Wer den besonderen Charakter der Saanestadt verstehen will, hat auch ihre geistige Ausrichtung und rege künstlerische Tätigkeit in Betracht zu ziehen. Auf die Zeit der Glaubenskämpfe während der Reformation und Gegenreformation geht die Gründung des Kollegiums St. Michael zurück, in dem die Elite des Kantons ihre Ausbildung erhielt. Die berühmte Jesuitenschule wurde 1889 durch eine Universität ergänzt, die den wachsenden Ansprüchen eines im vollen Wandel begriffenen Kantons entsprach. So verfügt die Stadt nicht nur über ein einzigartiges mittelalterliches Ortsbild, sondern auch über zahlreiche Bildungsstätten, die Weltruf geniessen, und mit ihrer Alma Mater über das in Europa seltene Beispiel einer zweisprachigen Hochschule.

Als Stadt mit menschlichen Dimensionen bietet Freiburg eine beneidenswerte Lebensqualität, setzt aber auch, an der Nahtstelle zwischen deutscher und französischer Schweiz, auf eine harmonische wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Was Freiburgs Bauerbe betrifft, wurde es von europäischen Instanzen wegen seiner Schönheit und seines ausgezeichneten Erhaltungszustands gerühmt.

Im Herzen der Schweiz am Schnittpunkt von Sprachen und Kulturen gelegen, erfüllt Freiburg zu einem Zeitpunkt, da das «Europa der Regionen» an Aktualität gewinnt, eine exemplarische Brückenfunktion. Nicht von ungefähr befindet sich hier ein Institut für Föderalismus, eine Art Labor für staatliche Organisationsformen. Darüber hinaus ist unsere Stadt ein Sammelbecken, in dem sich zahlreiche Sprachen mischen, und die hier gemachten Erfahrungen können einem Kontinent, der sich mit einem Wettstreit der Sprachen konfrontiert sieht, nur von Nutzen sein.

Die Stadt Freiburg besitzt ebenfalls einen Kulturreichtum, der mit neuen Projekten, die von der Region getragen werden, laufend ergänzt wird. Die Kathedrale ist die Trägerin dieser Jahrhunderte alten Freiburger Identität, während das Gastspielhaus Equilibre ein Unterpfand der Moderne und der Innovation ist, welche die Stadt unter Beweis stellt.

Ist Freiburg einmal dank des neuen kantonalen Finanzausgleichs und der gerechten Verteilung der Zentrumslasten mit den erforderlichen Mitteln ausgestattet, wird es imstande sein, seine Mission als Kantonshauptort voll zu erfüllen und seine Ausstrahlung wie seine Präsenz auf in- und ausländischer Ebene zu verstärken.