Content

Discover the town of Fribourg

A town that is naturally open to the world

 
Founded in 1157 by Duke Berthold IV of Zähringen, Fribourg has been a city-state for more than six centuries. Fribourg is not only the administrative capital of the canton but, with its urban area of 80,000 inhabitants, is also notable for its cultural influence and an economic dynamism of the highest order.

To grasp the essence of Fribourg, it is necessary to understand its spiritual dimension and its richly diverse artistic activity. As a result of the religious rivalries of the Reformation and the Counter-Reformation, the Collège Saint-Michel was established on the banks of the Sarine, dedicated to the training of the canton’s élite. As the educational flagship of the town, this Jesuitical institution was naturally instrumental in the founding of the University in 1889, in response to the growing needs of a canton undergoing major change. This medieval gem of a town, this breeding-ground for young talent now boasts an alma mater that is a rare example in Europe of a bilingual Haute École, with several centres of excellence enjoying an international reputation, as do its other establishments of higher education.

From a human point of view, Fribourg offers an enviable quality of life, based on harmonious economic development and its location on the cultural border between the French-speaking and German-speaking parts of Switzerland. Its architectural heritage has been hailed by the relevant European authorities for its beauty and excellent state of preservation.

Situated at a crossroads of linguistic and cultural routes in the heart of Switzerland, the town of Fribourg is playing a bridging role second to none at a time of transformation in Europe. In keeping with this role, Fribourg hosts the Institute of Federalism, a testing ground for state structures. Our town is, moreover, a place in which a variety of languages mingle, an experience which may prove highly useful to a continent confronted with competing languages.

Fribourg, a university city of learning, also has a rich historical and cultural heritage that is constantly enlarged through new projects run jointly with the region. While the cathedral is the guardian of the ancestral identity of Fribourg, the Equilibre theatre attests to the modern attitude and innovative spirit of the city.

21st-century Fribourg is witnessing the emergence of new administrative structures. As the Agglomeration project gets underway, the proposition to merge with neighbouring municipalities seems to be winning the inhabitants over.

Once it is endowed with the requisite resources, with a new cantonal redistribution of revenue in place and an appropriate recognition of the burdens carried by an urban centre, the town of Fribourg will be fully in a position to fulfil its mission as cantonal capital and to intensify its influence and presence in Switzerland as well as at the international level.

Content

Découvrez la ville de Fribourg

Une cité naturellement ouverte sur le monde


Fondée en 1157 par le duc Berthold IV de Zaehringen, Fribourg a constitué pendant plus de six siècles une Ville-État. Centre de décision administratif du canton, Fribourg et son agglomération de 80’000 habitants se distinguent par un rayonnement culturel et un dynamisme économique de premier ordre.

Pour appréhender Fribourg et ses spécificités, il convient de souligner sa dimension spirituelle et son activité artistique foisonnante. Les rivalités confessionnelles au temps de la Réforme et de la Contre-Réforme entraînent, sur les bords de la Sarine, la création du Collège Saint-Michel attaché à la formation des élites du canton. Fleuron de l’enseignement de la ville, l’institution des Jésuites a donné naturellement lieu à la fondation de l’Université en 1889, afin de répondre aux besoins croissants d’un canton en pleine mutation. Joyau médiéval et pépinière de jeunes pousses, la ville dispose de nos jours, avec son Alma Mater, rare exemple en Europe d’une Haute École bilingue, de plusieurs sites d’excellence qui font autorité sur le plan international, à l’instar de ses autres établissements d’enseignement supérieur.

À dimension humaine, Fribourg offre une qualité de vie enviable, tout en misant sur un développement économique harmonieux, au point de rencontre des Suisses romande et alémanique. Quant au patrimoine architectural, celui-ci a été salué par les instances européennes pour sa beauté et sa préservation.

Placée à un carrefour des chemins linguistiques et culturels au cœur de l’Helvétie, la ville de Fribourg, à l’heure d’une Europe en mutation, joue un rôle de «pont» à nul autre pareil. À cet égard, elle abrite un Institut du fédéralisme, stimulant laboratoire des structures étatiques. Notre cité est de surcroît un lieu de mixité aux origines linguistiques plurielles, dont l’expérience en ce domaine est profitable à un continent confronté à l’émulation des langues.

Ville d’étude, Fribourg possède également un patrimoine historique et culturel,  sans cesse enrichi au travers de nouveaux projets menés avec la région. La cathédrale est la gardienne de cette identité fribourgeoise ancestrale, tandis que la salle de spectacle Equilibre témoigne de la modernité et de l’innovation dont la Ville fait preuve. 

Le Fribourg du XXIe siècle voit l’émergence de nouvelles structures administratives. Tandis que le projet d’Agglomération fait son chemin, le désir de fusion avec des communes voisines semble emporter l’adhésion des habitants.

Une fois dotée des moyens indispensables, forte d’une nouvelle péréquation financière cantonale et d’une prise en compte effective des charges inhérentes à une ville-centre, la Ville de Fribourg sera pleinement en mesure de remplir sa mission de capitale cantonale et d’intensifier son rayonnement et sa présence tant en Suisse que sur le plan international.